maandag 17 december 2007


No, not the American powerpop/hardrock (?) band, but an album issued in 1972 on Motown. I bought this on vinyl about 25 years ago in Maastricht for 1 Dutch guilder (about 0,5 $) thinking I could do no wrong with such little amount of money. And well, I did no wrong ! This album is full of wonderful melodic songs. There are two members : Bob Barron and (lead singer) Carl Silva.

I assume this has never been released on cd, so I ripped it from the LP. I can't find much info on this album on the internet. Maybe some of you guys know more ? And tell me if you like it as much as I do.

P.S. Merry Christmas to you all ! If you are interested, you can still find the Beach Boys Christmas sessions in my earlier postings. And the previous post also contains some christmas tracks. See you next year !

BB - M.I.U. bonus

Tracks are : Our team - How's about a little bit of your sweet lovin' - lady lynda (1st version) - life is for the living - everybody wants to live - it's over now - deep purple - it's trying to say - lines - still I dream of it - new england waltz - california feeling (feat rocky & spring) - airplane (live) - go and get that girl - alone on christmas day - santa's on his way - I saw mommy kissing santa claus - christmas medley

dinsdag 11 december 2007

Triffids - Goodbye little boy

This was the first single from the black swan, here presented with the three extra tracks on the cd-single.

Note that this version is different from the black swan version : it was remixed by Stephen Street and the lyrics were censored (Jill is so damn tired instead of so fu*in' tired). Must admit that I prefer the album version.

1. Goodbye little boy
2. Go home Eddie
3. Shell of the man
4. You minus me

BB - Instrumental smile

Some can't get enough of it. Here's instrumental smile.

donderdag 6 december 2007

The Man

The Man is an album by Bill Drummond (The KLF, The justified ancients of Mu Mu)released in 1986. He was assisted by members from Voice of the beehive and The Triffids : Allan Macdonald on Drums, Robert McComb on Guitar, violin, Graham Lee on Pedal steel guitar, Martyn Casey on Bull fiddle and Jill Birt on Hammond organ.

Tracks are :
1. True To The Trail
2. Ballad For A Sex God
3. Julian Cope Is Dead
4. I Want That Girl
5. Going Back
6. Queen Of The South
7. I Believe In Rock And Roll
8. Married Man
9. I'm The King Of Joy
10. Son Of A Preacher Man
11. Such A Parcel Of Rogues In A Nation

It is now out of print.

maandag 3 december 2007

Dj Mic Luv Smile

Yet another Smile mix. Enjoy this one.

Tracks are :
1. our prayer
2. wind chimes
3. do you like worms
4. heroes and villains
5. the old master painter
6. child is father of the man
7. cabin essence
8. good vibrations
9. wonderful
10. I'm in great shape
11. vega-tables
12. the elements
13. surf's up